Saucy Portobello Pitas

I found this recipe in my new Taste of Home magazine (April and May 2011) and thought it would be a great meal for me to have on the night that I was making spaghetti and red sauce for the rest of the fam.  (I can’t eat anything with red sauce while nursing the baby.. makes her tummy upset.)

 

I realize now that I actually remembered to get a few pics while I was making them, but got all excited and inhaled them before getting a picture of the put together pita.  Whoops….   Next time I make them I will get a pic and attach it to this post.

 

Here is the Recipe submitted by a Lisa Hundley of Aberdeen, NC.

Saucy Portobello Pitas

Cucumber Sauce:

1 c reduced fat plain yogurt

1/2 c chopped peeled cucumber

1/4 to 1/3 c fresh mint

1 tbsp. grated lemon peel

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tsp. garlic powder

 

Pitas:

4 large portobello mushrooms, stems removed

1/2 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp greek seasoning

2 tbsp canola oil

8 pita pocket halves, warmed

8 thin slices red onion, separated into rings

8 slices tomato

 

1.  In a bowl, combine sauce ingredients.  Cover and refrigerate.

2.  Sprinkle mushrooms with pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, and Greek seasoning.  In a skillet, cook mushrooms in oil for 3-5 minutes on each side or until tender.

3.  Cut pita breads in half; line each with a slice of onion and tomato.  Cut mushrooms in half; place in pitas.  Serve with cucumber sauce.

 

 

I used multi-grain pitas….

My cucumber sauce is a bit boring compared to theirs.  I don’t like the taste of rind… so I left that out.  I don’t care for mint.. so I left that out too.  I also used fat free yogurt instead of low fat.  I think it made my sauce a bit thinner, but was better on points for weight watchers and tasted pretty darn good still.

Portobellos cooking…. yummmm……

One response to this post.

  1. […]  Spaghetti with Sausage Meat Sauce/  Portabello Pitas for me (I can’t eat the red sauce while […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

