Oatmeal Banana Applesauce Cake

I made this tonight for dessert and it was mighty yummy.  The frosting is sort of the carrot cake frosting and the cake is super thick, dense, and moist.  It tastes like a really dense moist banana bread, but sweeter.  The cake barely has any sugar in it because of the fruit, but it is plenty sweet.
Anyway… head over there to get this recipe and give it a try… and browse around for a bit while you are there.  This is, by far, my favorite blog read of the day.
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marcia on February 24, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Lesley,
    How long did you cook this for. The directions on the website do not say. Thanks!

    Reply

    • I noticed no time on the recipe too. I think I had mine in for about 25 minutes, but I would just keep checking it and make sure to do the toothpick trick. The oatmeal and banana make it darker on top when it is still pretty liquid in the middle. It is a super heavy dense moist cake… perfect for something a bit different. (by heavy.. I don’t mean heavy on the stomach… I mean literally heavy when you are taking it out of the oven.. 🙂

      Reply

    • Hey Marcia… How long did you have to cook yours for? Did you notice? I was just curious. I hope it came out okay for you and that you liked it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Posted by Marcia Burdick on March 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Lesley, I think it ended up being about 30 mintues. After 25 it seemed still wet in the middle. So try 30 minutes or 35 depending on the particular oven. IT WAS FANTASTIC! Hubby says to do some more. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

