Cinnamon Dippers and Icing

 

This idea came out of an accident… as many do.  I forgot to get the frozen bread dough out to make a loaf of bread until a bit late.  The bread didn’t rise enough to bake it until well after our company left.  I was just getting ready to bake the loaf when hubby says “Hey.. could you make some of those cinnamon dipper thingies with the icing like they have at Little Ceasars?”  So…. I gave it a shot.

My bread looked like this….

I greased a cookie sheet and just pressed out the dough with my hands and then cut it with a spatula (so that I didn’t scratch my already not so hot cookie sheet) in half and then into strips about an inch and half wide.

I melted a couple tablespoons of butter in the microwave and brushed the strips with the melted butter.

Then I liberally sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon and sugar over all of the strips.

I baked them in a 350 degree oven.  The time will vary based on how thick and big you cut the strips, but check often.  I checked ours once and was nervous that they might be gooey in the middle still.  I checked them not too long after that and they were all golden brown on top.  You do NOT want golden brown on top.  That is too done… they will be crunchy on the bottom…as ours were.  😦

I would take them out as soon as they look not shiny or sticky anymore and you may see a bit of browning on the edge.  Think sugar cookies.

 

To make the icing—

Combine 2 cups of confectioners sugar, a couple tablespoons of milk or cream, one tsp. vanilla, and a dash of salt.  Stir together.  That’s it.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jeanette (GG)..Grandma on February 7, 2011 at 4:07 am

    SOUNDS LIKE ANOTHER WINNER.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

