Waldorf Salad

 

Waldorf Salad

(Image from simplyrecipes.com)

I had never made Waldorf salad before about two weeks ago.  I had it at Thanksgiving dinner and don’t remember it being so good.  My craving for it persisted even after I had the baby so I decided to give it a shot.

I looked up quite a few recipes and there are a lot of different ones out there.  I decided to take a bit from here and there and just wing it.

This is how I make mine—

I use about five Empire apples peel on chopped up and cored, a few handfuls of green grapes cut in half, close to a cup of halved walnuts and then chop them, less than a quarter cup of raisins (not my fav item but are good to have a few in there),  a few stalks of celery sliced up when I have it, about a half cup of mayonnaise,  a squirt of lemon juice, and a couple tablespoons of sugar.

I knew almonds were good for you and I was thinking that I should put them in next time to try.  Then I looked up healthy nuts and found walnuts second on the list.  This site says that they “increase our brain function.”

I know that fruit is still full of sugar and that mayo and the added sugar aren’t great, but I am calling this my better-than-chocolate new healthy snack.

 

Here are a few recipes online if you want to see other options/versions.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/waldorf-salad-recipe2/index.html

http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/waldorf_salad/

http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/waldorf-salad-i-2/Detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

